University of North Dakota Faculty/Staff Newsletter

Lana Rakow earns international Teresa Award

The International Communications Association’s (ICA’s) Feminist Scholarship Division has awarded the 2010 Teresa Award for the Advancement of Feminist Scholarship to UND faculty member Lana Rakow. The Teresa Award recognizes individuals whose work has made significant contributions to the development, reach and influence of feminist scholarship in communications.

Rakow, professor and director of the Center for Community Engagement, is the second recipient of the Teresa Award, which was established through an endowment from Dr. Yoo Jae Song of Ewha Women’s University in South Korea. In creating the endowment, Yoo Jae wanted to establish an award that would recognize outstanding feminist scholars whose research and leadership have significantly shaped communications. The award honors Yoo Jae’s mother, Teresa Kyuguen Cho, a Korean-American pediatrician who died in Philadelphia in 2006 at the age of 83.

The Teresa Award Committee chose Rakow for her sustained contribution to the advancement of feminist scholarship, as well as the exceptional quality and influence of her work within the field of feminist communication scholarship. Rakow co-founded the ICA Feminist Scholarship Division in 1986 at a time when gender research was just emerging. In the years since, Rakow’s conceptual and theoretical work on women and communication has broken new ground, and her publications have become milestones for research and teaching. Her nominators also cited her generosity as a mentor and her actions as a role model in the struggle for gender equity on academic campuses. A reception and award ceremony for Rakow will be held Thursday, June 24, at the ICA conference in Singapore.

ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication. ICA began more than 50 years ago as a small association of U.S. researchers and is now an international association with more than 4200 members in over 80 countries. Since 2003, ICA has been officially associated with the United Nations as a nongovernmental association.

Tagged as: ,