University of North Dakota Faculty/Staff Newsletter

Founders Day award winners, 25-year and retiring employees listed

The University of North Dakota will celebrate its 129th birthday with special employee and faculty recognitions and awards on Thursday, Feb. 23, during the Annual Founders Day event in the Memorial Union.

A reception will begin at 5:15 p.m., with the banquet at 6 p.m.  Cecilia Garcia, Fernando Vargas and Rachel Abbe, of the musical group “Trio Ferace,” will start the event by celebrating the 50-year anniversaries of the UND Honors Program and the Chester Fritz Library on campus.

The University will then pay tribute to excellence in education by presenting 11 departmental and faculty awards, as well as honoring 21 employees for 25 years of service and 55 retired and retiring employees.  In addition, the North Dakota Spirit Faculty Achievement Award will be presented to 43 recipients.

The first Founders Day celebration was held in 1904, with the observance lasting the whole day and marking the anniversary of the signing of the act to place the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks.  This marked the day as the official birthday of UND.

This year, a total of $124,500 in awards will be presented, with $116,500 from the UND Foundation, $4,000 from the Fellows of the University and $4,000 from UND local funds.

Here is a list of awards and this year’s winners:

Teaching, Research and Service Award (Faculty Scholar)

UND Foundation/B.C. Gamble Faculty Award for Individual Excellence in Teaching, Research or Creative Activity and Service- Cindy Anderson, nursing, $2500.

Undergraduate Teaching Awards

UND Foundation/McDermott Faculty Award for Individual Excellence in Teaching- Diane Darland, biology, $2,000.

UND Foundation/Lydia & Arthur Saiki Faculty Award for Individual Excellence in Teaching- James Popejoy, music, $2,000.

Graduate or Professional Teaching Award

UND Foundation/Thomas J. Clifford Faculty Award for Graduate of Professional Teaching Excellence- Marcus Weaver-Hightower, educational foundations and research, $2,000.

Individual Award for Faculty Development or Service

UND Foundation/Thomas. J Clifford Faculty Achievement Award for Outstanding Faculty Development and Service- Brett Goodwin, biology, $2,000.

Department Teaching Award

UND Foundation/Thomas J. Clifford Award for Departmental Excellence in Teaching-educational foundations and research, $2,000.

Academic Advising Award

UND Foundation/Karleen Home Rosaaen Award for Excellence in Academic Advising- Lowell Stanlake, mechanical engineering, $2,000.

Research Award

UND Foundation/Thomas J. Clifford Faculty Achievement Award for Excellence in Research- Sandra Short, physical education, exercise science and wellness, $2,000.

Department Service Award

Fellows of the University Award for Departmental Excellence in Service- social work, $2,000.

Department Research Award

Fellows of the University Award for Departmental Excellence in Research- biochemistry and molecular biology, $2,000.

Collaboration Award:

UND Award for Interdisciplinary Collaboration in Research or Creative Work- Wayne Seames, chemical engineering, and Evguenii Kozliak, chemistry, $4,000.

North Dakota Spirit Faculty Achievement Awards

43 recipients in eight programs and departments, $100,000.  This is the last year that the Spirit Awards will be given.

Recognition for 25 Years of Service

Janice Bakken, account technician; Sherri Brossart, duplicating services; Troy Coulter, equipment operator; Darlene Czapiewski, occupational therapy; Linda Dammen, Center for Family Medicine in Minot; Sheryl Eicholtz-Lanis, EERC; Darlene Goulet, building services technician; Darlene Hanson, nursing; Dawn Korynta, Student Health Services; Martha Lovejoy, dining services.

Joy Mack, clinical neuroscience; Dave Miedema, Alumni Association & Foundation; Peggy Molstad, Student Health Services; Wayne Onger, assistant chief of police; Raymond Pikarski, EERC; Leyton Rodahl, buyer; Trudy Soli, military science; Darren Studney, senior network analyst ; Craig Swenson, capital project coordinator; Cheryl Widman, human resources; Jackie Wiens, dining services.

Retired and Retiring Faculty and Staff

Dotty Arnold, account technician; Susan Bartlette, building services technician; Jeanne Bjeklie, building services; J. Lloyd Blackwell, economics; Charles Blair, systems mechanic; Donna Boe, mathematics; Robert Boyd, vice president for student and outreach services; Charlotte Bratvold, building services technician manager; Marsha Brossart, nursing; James “Jack” Chatt, maintenance supervisor.

Gail Colwell, Conflict Resolution Center; Duane Czapiewski, police chief; Linda Dammen, Center for Family Medicine in Minot; Byron Danielson, internal medicine; Ellen Erickson, assistant provost; MaryLou Feilen, building manager; Dawn Fore, account technician; Linda Giedd, dining services; Judy Grinde, account/budget specialist; Paul Gronhovd, Energy & Environmental Research Center (EERC).

Sharon Gustafson, aviation; Judith Hall, nutrition & dietetics; Yvonne Hanley, teaching & learning,  John Hendrikson, EERC; Kathi Hjelmstad, nursing; Mary Hoffart, EERC; Dennis Hogan, dining services; E. Allan Johnson, aviation; Virginia Kroocmo, assistant to vice president of finance and operations; James Liebelt, equipment operator.

Lynn Lindholm, philosophy and religion; Sue Litzinger, Dakota Student; Roy Loken, campus postal service; Marty (Martha) Lovejoy, dining services; Helen Lund, campus postal services; Thomas “Marty” Martzall, transportation; Randolf Middelton, maintenance specialist; Don Miller, art & design; Stanley Miller, EERC; Keith Myers, police officer.

Diane Nelson, director of human resources; Colin Osborne, painter; Maureen Parkin, campus postal services; Morris Pung, biology; Linda Quamme, EERC; Patrick Riley,TRIO programs; Gene Roebuck, women’s basketball coach; Chester Rose, maintenance specialist; Dave Senne, housing maintenance supervisor; Wilmer Smith, aviation; Cheryl Stjern, Human Nutrition Research Center; Paul Tollefsrud, building services technician; Donald Toman, EERC; Phyllis Trelfa, law; Karen Uhrich, EERC.