University of North Dakota Faculty/Staff Newsletter

Provost search committee to convene today

A UND search committee for the position of provost and vice president for academic affairs will convene 9:30 a.m. to 11 a.m., Thursday, May 10, in 404 Twamley Hall.

The committee is co-chaired by Lori Reesor, vice president for student affairs, and Jim Mochoruk, chair-elect of the UND University Senate and professor of history.

Paul LeBel, who has served as Interim Provost since 2009 and Provost since 2010, has announced that he will step down June 30, 2013.

The search committee comprises Dean Kathryn Rand (Law School), Connie Gagelin (Provost’s Office), Wilbur Stolt (Libraries), and Ike Schlosser (Biology chair), Beth Bjerke (Aviation), Jeff Sun (Educational Leadership), Anne Kelsch (Office of Instructional Development and History), Joseph Hartman (Geology and Geological Engineering), Dave Yearwood (Technology), Gwen Halaas (School of Medicine and Health Sciences), Margaret Myers (Finance and Operations), Mark Hoffmann (Research and Economic Development), Angie Carpenter (Student Affairs), and DeAnna Carlson Zink (Alumni Association and Foundation), Logan Fletcher (Student Body President) and Shuchita Patwardhan (graduate student in Chemical Engineering) and Rick Burgum (alumnus and former chair of UND Foundation Board).

Staff support will be provided by Sandy Rios (President’s Office).

-- David L. Dodds, media relations/writer and editor, University Relations, 777-5529,

Tagged as: