University of North Dakota Faculty/Staff Newsletter

Medical Laboratory Science students receive scholarships for 2013–2014

The School of Medicine and Health Sciences awarded scholarships to medical laboratory science students at the school. Funds for the scholarships come from various private sources, endowments and scholarship funds.

Scholarships for 2013–2014

• Haley Amoth of Grand Forks, N.D., received the Jean Holland Saumur Hematology Award for achieving the highest grade in hematology in the fall semester of 2012.

Jean Holland Saumur was the program director of the UND Medical Technology program for over thirty years and retired in 1985. This award was established in Jean's honor to recognize the dedication, service and significant contributions she had given to the University for over forty years. Jean passed away in April of 2011.

• Brock Davidson of Devils Lake and Emily Peterson of Coon Rapids, Minn., each received the Ralph and Hazel Rohde Medical Technology Scholarship Award, which is given each year to UND senior medical laboratory science students who have shown academic excellence.

Ralph and Hazel Rohdes' children had a strong interest in medical science. Two of their sons graduated in medicine, and their daughter and granddaughter graduated from UND in Medical Technology. The Rohdes established a Medical Scholarship Endowment in appreciation for the opportunities that were provided to their children and grandchildren. Ralph died in the 1980s and Hazel died in 1999.

• Brock Davidson also received the Miltza Luper Scholarship Award, which is given each year to a UND medical laboratory science student who demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in the subject of biochemistry and molecular biology.

Ms. Luper was an assistant professor in the Department of Biochemistry in charge of the biochemistry laboratory instruction for the medical technology (medical laboratory science) program during the years 1955–1981. This award is given yearly to the outstanding medical laboratory science student in the undergraduate Biochemistry 301 course. This scholarship is supported by income from an endowment given by various graduates of UND in honor of Miltza Luper.

• Rachel Engel of Grand Forks received the Dr. Cyril J. Dillenburg Memorial Medical Scholarship, which is given annually to a full-time senior medical laboratory science student at Altru Hospital in Grand Forks.

Cyril Dillenburg, M.D., was the medical director of the UND Medical Technology Program until his death in 1984. He was a friend and teacher of numerous students during this period. An award was started by his colleagues and friends to aid deserving medical technology and medical laboratory science students.

• Mary Kading of Park Rapids, Minn., and Jozey Ledoux of Mohall, N.D., each received the Eleanor Ratcliffe Scholarship award. This award is given each year to seniors in medical laboratory science who have shown academic excellence.

• Amanda Stevens of Valley City, N.D., received the Eileen Simonson Nelson Pathology Award. This award goes to the medical laboratory science student who receives the highest grade in the MLS 101 course in the fall semester of 2012.

Eileen Simonson Nelson received her Bachelor of Science in Medical Technology, cum laude, from UND in 1955. Eileen began her career at the Department of Pathology in 1956. Eileen served many roles in the department, including assistant professor, histopathology lab chief technologist, education coordinator of the Histotechnology Program, and acting director of the Medical Technology Program. She taught the CLS 101/MLS 101 course for many years and was the major advisor of the undergraduate students in the Medical Technology Program during that time. She was also very active in service work for her profession, having served as president and on many committees of the North Dakota Society for Medical Technology. She also was co-editor of the newsletter for the NDSMT. She did much service work for UND, including serving as an advisor to the Medical Technology Club. Eileen retired in 1994. Eileen still lives in Grand Forks.

-- Denis MacLeod, assistant director, Office of Alumni and Community Relations, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 777.2733,

Tagged as: