University of North Dakota Faculty/Staff Newsletter

NSF official will focus on grant proposals to NSF Engineering, CBET, and Thermal Transport Sept. 13

National Science Foundation Seminar:  “Introduction to NSF Engineering, CBET Division and the Thermal Transport Program” presented by Sumanta Acharya, PhD, NSF Program Director, Thermal Transport, CBET Division, ENG Directorate, on Friday, Sept. 13, 10-11 a.m., Badlands Room, Memorial Union.

The seminar will provide an introduction to the NSF Engineering (ENG) Directorate and, in particular, the Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental and Transport (CBET) Systems Division. Areas of specific interest to ENG and CBET will be discussed, along with ongoing initiatives.  These include Advanced Manufacturing, Brain Mapping, Sustainable Infrastructure, Energy-Water Nexus, Advanced Materials and Cyber Computing.  The Thermal Transport Program and its funding priorities will be discussed in greater detail. In addition, some general guidance, particularly to the newer faculty, will be provided on strategies for constructing successful proposals.

Biography: Sumanta Acharya has been on the faculty of mechanical engineering at Louisiana State University since 1982, where he is the L. R. Daniel Professor and the Director of Turbine Innovation &  Energy Research (TIER) Center.  His interests are in computational fluids, gas turbine heat transfer and combustion, and he has published or presented nearly 185 journal articles and book chapters and over 225 refereed conference papers on these and related fields.  He has supervised the work of nearly 60 graduate students and has been a principal investigator (PI) or co-PI of nearly $25 million of funded research.  He is the recipient of the ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award, the LSU Distinguished Research Master Award, and three best-teacher awards from students. He is currently at the National Science Foundation as the Program Director of the Thermal Transport Process in the Chemical, Bio-Engineering, Environmental and Transport (CBET) Division.

No registration required!

~Phyllis E. Johnson, Ph.D., Vice President for Research & Economic Development