University of North Dakota Faculty/Staff Newsletter

Nominations invited for Research Founders Day Awards (departmental)

Nominations Invited for Founders Day Departmental Research Award

Nominations are invited for The UND Award for Departmental Excellence in Research, recognizing research, scholarly, and creative productivity. The winning department will receive a $2,000 award and a plaque at the Founders Day Banquet on Thursday, Feb. 27, 2014. Nominations should include information that will allow the selection committee to judge the quantity and quality of the research, scholarly, and creative activities of the department. At a minimum, such nominations should include:

1. A listing of published research or other creative or scholarly activities during the period 2008-2013.

2. Additional information for those years, such as a brief synopsis of ongoing research activities, the number and type of active sponsored projects, dissertations or other research papers presented by students, performances or scholarly presentations by
faculty, etc., should be included if they contribute to the overall picture of a department’s research, scholarly, and creative activities.

3. A statement of support from the dean is required.

To expedite the review process, an original of the nomination and supporting documentation must be submitted to RD&C, 105 Twamley Hall, Stop 7134 and emailed as a PDF file to no later than Friday, Jan. 3.

The awardee will be selected by the Outstanding Research Awards Committee which includes the Associate Vice President for Research & Economic Development (chair), the chair and one committee member of the Senate Scholarly Activities Committee, three members of the Associate Deans for Research Committee, and one member of the Faculty Seed Money Committee. Since previous awardees are ineligible for nomination until five years have passed, the Center for Rural Health (2013), Biochemistry & Molecular Biology (2012), Chemical Engineering (2011), Biology and Pharmacology, Physiology & Therapeutics (2010), and Chemistry (2009) may not be nominated this year.

If further information is desired, please contact Research Development & Compliance office at 777.4278 or

― Barry Milavetz, associate vice president for Research and Economic Development, 777.4280,

Tagged as: