University of North Dakota Faculty/Staff Newsletter

Nominations invited for Research Founders Day Awards (faculty)

Nominations Invited for Founders Day Faculty Research Award

Nominations are invited for The UND Foundation/Thomas J. Clifford Faculty Achievement Award for Excellence in Research. The winner of this award will receive a plaque and $2,000 at the Founders Day Banquet on Thursday, Feb. 27, 2014. Tenured faculty who have been at UND for at least five years, are eligible to receive this award. The following information should be provided:

1. A listing of publications of significant, original and high-quality research, scholarly,
and creative contributions in nationally recognized professional journals that are
refereed by peer reviewers and/or a listing of juried competitions and invited

2. Overall scholarly activities, such as service as, a reviewer of research proposals for
federal agencies or other funding sources, service as a referee or editor for
professional journals, and/or contributions to training students in research, scholarly,
and creative endeavors.

3. Potential for significant contributions to enhancing the effectiveness of the subject
matter taught in the classroom.

4. A letter of support from the department chair, if the nominee is a faculty member, or
from the dean, if the nominee is the chair of the department.

Faculty, staff and students may make nominations, and faculty are invited to nominate themselves. Since the committee will not engage in the gathering of documentation, each nomination or application must be accompanied by thorough evidence of the nominee’s qualifications for the award. An original of the nomination and supporting documentation must be submitted to RD&C,Twamley 105, Stop 7134 and emailed as a PDF to no later than Friday, January 3, 2014.

The awardee will be selected by the Outstanding Research Awards Committee, which includes the Associate Vice President for Research & Economic Development (chair), the chair and one committee member of the Senate Scholarly Activities Committee, three members of the Associate Deans for Research Committee, and one member of the Faculty Seed Money Committee. Since previous awardees are ineligible for nomination until five years have passed, Mark Hoffmann and Holly Brown-Borg (2013), Sandra Short (2012), Sandra Donaldson (2011), Vasyl Tkach (2010), and Eric J. Murphy (2009) may not be nominated this year.

If further information is desired, please contact the Research Development & Compliance office at 777.4278 or

― Barry Milavetz, associate vice president for Research and Economic Development, 777.4280,

Tagged as: