University of North Dakota Faculty/Staff Newsletter

Nominations/applications invited for Faculty Research Award

Nominations/applications are invited for the UND Foundation Thomas J. Clifford Faculty Achievement Award for Excellence in Research. The winner of this award will receive a plaque for $2,000 at the Founders Day Banquet Thursday, Feb. 24, 2011. Tenured faculty who have been at UND at least five years are eligible to receive this award. The following information should be provided:

(1) A listing of publications of significant, original and high-quality research, scholarly, and creative contributions in nationally recognized professional journals that are refereed by peer reviewers and/or a listing of juried competitions and invited performances/exhibitions.

(2) Overall scholarly activities, such as service as a reviewer of research proposals for federal agencies or other funding sources, service as a referee or editor for professional journals, and contributions to training students in research, scholarly, and creative endeavors;

(3) Potential for significant contributions to enhancing the effectiveness of the subject matter taught in the classroom.

(4) A letter of support from the department chair, if the nominee is a faculty member, or from the dean, if the nominee is the chair of the department.

Faculty, staff and students may make nominations, and faculty are invited to nominate themselves. Since the committee will not engage in the gathering of documentation, each nomination or application must be accompanied by thorough evidence of the nominee’s qualifications for the award. Nine copies of each nomination and supporting documentation should be received at Research Development and Compliance (RD&C) no later than Friday, January 7, 2011. The awardee will be selected by the same committee that selects the Fellows of the University Award for Departmental Excellence in Research recipient. This committee includes the Associate Vice President for Research (Chair), the Chair of the Senate Scholarly Activities Committee, one faculty member from the Senate Scholarly Activities Committee, three members of the Associate Deans for Research Committee, the Chair of the Faculty Research Seed Money Committee, and one member of the Faculty Research Seed Money Committee. Since previous awardees are ineligible for nomination until five years have passed, Vasyl Tkach (2010). Eric J. Murphy (2009), Michael J. Gaffey and Wayne S. Seames (2007), Michael D. Mann (2006), and F. Richard Ferraro (2005), may not be nominated this year. A faculty award was not made in 2008.

For more information, please call Research Development and Compliance at 777-4278.