University of North Dakota Faculty/Staff Newsletter

ND EPSCoR announces IIP Seed Awards

The North Dakota Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (ND EPSCoR) has announced the IIP Seed awards. These Seed awards are designed to foster the competitiveness of North Dakota researchers by providing support to faculty who propose to initiate or substantially expand studies that will lead to merit-based grants in one or more of the areas supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF). Seed award winners are required to submit a competitive single-PI research proposal to the NSF by Feb. 1, 2012.

The awards made were competitively selected from a total of sixteen applications. The external reviewers were very impressed by the overall quality of the proposals, and the end result is that we committed to fund five of the proposals.

Award recipients:
- Assistant Professor Jerome Delhommelle, Chemistry, $38,565, “Molecular Modeling of Phase-Change Materials for Nonvolatile Memories”
- Associate Professor Van Doze, Pharmacology, Physiology and Therapeutics, $40,000, “Adrenergic Regulation of Neurogenesis and Cognition”
- Associate Professor Ju Kim, Physics and Astrophysics, $32,952, “Entanglement of Interacting Josephson Vortex Quantum bits in the Noisy Environment”
- Assistant Professor Nuri Oncel, Physics and Astrophysics, $32,657, “Scanning Tunneling Microscopy and Spectroscopy Studies of IR nanowires on GE (001)”
- Professor Lothar Stahl, Chemistry, $31,356, “Oxidatiave Additions of Organohalophosphines on Group 14 Heterocarbenes”

For additional information concerning ND EPSCoR or the IIP SEED Program, please contact Mark. R. Hoffmann, Assistant Vice President for Research and Co-Project Director, ND EPSCoR, Twamley Hall 415, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, N.D. 58201-7093, 777-2492.

Tagged as: ,