Wakefield receives U-Mary health care excellence award

Mary Wakefield, associate dean and director of the Center for Rural Health at the School of Medicine and Health Sciences received the Schafer Excellence in Health Care Award from the University of Mary Nov. 9.

Inaugurated in 2001, the award recognizes those who contribute or have contributed to even greater possibilities in the field of health care for the citizens of North Dakota. Previous recipients include the Sisters of Annunciation Monastery, Dr. Gerald Sailer, Dr. Allen Van Beek, Dr. Ralph Kilzer, and Richard Tschider.

An alumna of U-Mary, Wakefield also provided the keynote address, “Current Issues in Patient Safety,” for the school’s fourth annual Schafer Institute for Excellence in Health Care. The event provides North Dakota leaders with opportunities to meet with and exchange ideas with each other and with their future employees--about 100 future graduates of the U-Mary’s Emerging Leaders Academy.
-- Amanda Scurry, public information specialist, UND SMHS, ascurry@medicine.nodak.edu, 701-777-0871