Search begins for new engineering dean

Provost Greg Weisenstein has appointed a 14-member committee to seek a new dean of the School of Engineering and Mines. John Watson, who has held that position since October 2001, is retiring this fall.

"We are very pleased with the composition of the committee to assist the University in selecting a new dean of the School of Engineering and Mines to replace retiring Dean John Watson. I believe the School of Engineering and Mines Dean Search Committee reflects the many strengths of the School and will be able to attract applicants who are able to maintain the trajectory of success that has been achieved during Dean Watson's tenure. Under his leadership, the School has experienced unprecedented success in elevating its national stature and growing enrollments," said Weisenstein.

The search committee will be chaired by Joshua Wynne, executive associate dean for academic affairs and faculty affairs at the School of Medicine and Health Sciences. Other committee members include:

* Michael Mann, chair and associate professor of chemical engineering;
* Steve Burian, a civil engineering alum;
* Wally Lang, an electrical engineering alum;
* Cadence Youngberg, administrative assistant to the dean of the School of Engineering and Mines;
* Joseph Hartman, associate professor of geology and geological engineering;
* Forrest Ames, associate professor of mechanical engineering;
* Dorette Kerian, director of Information Technology Systems and Services;
* Terri Clark, director of fiscal affairs at the John D. Odegard School of Aerospace Sciences;
* Martha Potvin, dean of the College of Arts & Sciences;
* Tom Erickson, associate director at the Energy & Environmental Research Center;
* Lynette Krenelka, director of the distance degree and program outreach at the Division of Continuing Education;
* Tom Owens, professor emeritus of chemical engineering;
* A yet-to-be-named student representative.

The committee is expected to start meeting in early September.