Metcalfe receives Walter O. Mason award at national conference

Elaine Metcalfe, director of the TRIO Programs, has been awarded the Walter O. Mason Award at the Council for Opportunity in Education conference in Chicago. This prestigious award is the highest national honor given by the Council for Opportunity in Education, for distinguished service and leadership.

Metcalfe became the director of TRIO Programs in 2006. She has been with the University TRIO Programs for 20 years, including the previous five years as associate director.

Walter O. Mason is credited as one of the creators of the Federal TRIO programs. The Council established this award in his name in 1988 to honor outstanding educational opportunity professional who exemplify his sense of leadership and his ideals.

UND TRIO Programs consist of five federally-funded grants that help serve low income and disadvantaged students. The programs that are directed by Metcalfe include Upward Bound, Talent Search, Student Support Services, Ronald E. McNair Postbaccalaureate program, and Educational Opportunity Center.
-- Dennis Stangl, Technology Specialist (Public Relations Committee Chair), TRIO,, 7-2084