Center for Innovation Foundation elects officers, trustees

The trustees of the UND Center for Innovation Foundation have elected a new trustee to its board and held election of officers at their annual meeting in February 2008. Elected to the board is Dale Morrison, president of McCain Foods of Toronto, Canada, who is a 1971 UND graduate. Morrison replaces Russell Brown, retired chair and CEO of AGSCO, who was elected trustee emeritus after six years of service.

Elected for three-year terms as officers of the Foundation are Bart Holiday as chair, Howard Dahl as vice chair, and James Ray as treasurer.

Morrison is president and CEO of McCain Foods Ltd., the world's largest producer of frozen French fries and the manufacturer of other food products sold in more than 110 countries. The company has more than 55 production facilities on six continents supported by more than 20,000 employees. Besides frozen potatoes, McCain's also processes green vegetables, desserts, pizzas, juices and beverages, oven meals, entrees, appetizers, etc.

Before leading McCain Foods in 2004, Morrison served 10 years with General Foods, 14 years as president of Frito-Lay North Division and Hostess Frito Lay Canada (both PepsiCo), and five years with Campbell Soup Company. He served as CEO and president of Campbell Soup from 1997-2000. Before joining McCain Foods, he was a principal with Fenway Partners, a New York private equity firm.

Originally from Milton, N.D., Morrison earned a business degree from UND in 1971. He served as president of the UND Foundation board from 1995 to 2004. He is currently a member of the National Campaign Steering Committee to raise $300 million for UND. He has been an active alumnus with his fraternity, Kappa Sigma.

Foundation trustees are:
Chairman of the board: Bart Holaday, retired, Brinson Partners Venture Capital, Chicago, and president of the Dakota Foundation, Placitas, N.M. He has been an advisor to the Center for Innovation Foundation for 20 years. Holaday is also a trustee of the UND Foundation, Jamestown College and the Air Force Academy Foundation.

Vice chair: Howard Dahl, president and founder of Amity Technology and Concord Manufacturing, Fargo. Dahl is a 1997 recipient of the North Dakota Business Innovator of the Year Award and past-president of the UND Foundation.

Treasurer: James Ray, president of the Aerospace Capital Group and president of the Ray Foundation, Naples, Fla.

Trustee: Randy Newman, chair and CEO of Alerus Financial of Grand Forks. He is chair of the Center for Innovation advisory board.

Trustee: Jerry Van Eeckhout, founder, chairman and CEO of ACT Teleconferencing, Inc from 1990 until 2003 when he became chair emeritus. He was inducted into the North Dakota Entrepreneur Hall of Fame in 1998; he lives in Evergreen, Colo.

Trustee: Bill Ness, retired CEO and chair of Arctic Cat of Thief River Falls, Minn.; he lives in Hudson, Wis.

Trustee emeritus: Russell Brown, retired president and CEO of AGSCO of Grand Forks now living in Buckeye, Ariz. Brown is a 1995 recipient of the North Dakota Business Innovator of the Year, and is the past chair of the Center for Innovation advisory board. He served as chair of the Foundation from 2001 to 2004.

Trustee Emeritus: Fran Jabara, president of Jabara Ventures Group, Wichita, Kan., and founding director of the Center for Entrepreneur Ventures at Wichita State University.

Four other directors from UND are ex-officio, non-voting members. They are the president, vice president for finance and operations, dean of the College of Business and Public Administration, and the director of the Center for Innovation, who also serves as the CEO of the Center for Innovation Foundation.

About the UND Center for Innovation Foundation
The Foundation supports the Center for Innovation to fulfill their mission of helping entrepreneurs, innovators, researchers and students launch new technologies, products and ventures, develop business and marketing plans, access talent and secure sources of venture financing. Since 2001, the Foundation has increased its assets from $1 million to $8 million including building the $4 million Ina Mae Rude Entrepreneur Center to further the mission of the Center for Innovation and the academic entrepreneur program.